All of the Indonesia FWA Operators can Provide Full Mobility Services in the Next Year

Indonesian Directorate General of Post and Telecommunications will soon impose a licensing scheme for all services through a unified access licensing (UAL). Thus, there was no difference between the fixed wireless access (FWA) and mobile.

Currently, Indonesia has four licensed FWA operators, namely Telkom (Flexi), Bakrie Telecom / BTel (Esia), Mobile-8 Telecom (Hepi), and Indosat (StarOne). Among the four operators, the only true BTEL who does not have a cellular license.

"Later, with UAL, only one mobile license. But technically still awaiting review, how naming and licensing," said Director General of Post and Telecommunication Muhammad Budi Setyawan in Jakarta on Monday (29/11/2010).

Telkom already has a mobile through Telkomsel (Simpati, Kartu AS, and Kartu Halo), Mobile-8 (Fren), and Indosat (Mentari, IM3 and Matrix).